College of Sciences Well Represented at the 2023 University Excellence Awards


The UTSA University Excellence Awards (UEA) ceremony celebrates the achievements of Roadrunner faculty and staff, ranging from exceptional teaching and innovative research to exemplary team spirit and impactful advocacy.

All Roadrunner faculty and staff were invited to attend and celebrate the achievements of their peers, mentors and friends. This year’s award ceremony included numerous awards for faculty and staff in the College of Sciences.

UEA took place from 9:30 to 11 a.m. on Tuesday, April 25 in the H-E-B Student Union Ballrooms (HSU 1.104/1.106) on the UTSA Main Campus. The ceremony featured UTSA President Taylor Eighmy, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Kimberly Andrews Espy, Vice President for Inclusive Excellence Myron Anderson, Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice President for Business Affairs Veronica Salazar, and representatives from Staff and Faculty Senate.

The President’s Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards is one of three categories that encompass UEA and recognizes the achievements of faculty who have excelled in teaching, research, or service. This year, the COS had three faculty members who were selected for the President’s Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards.

President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching Excellence

  • Rocky Slavin

President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Excellence in University Service

  • Terri Matiella

President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Research Achievement

  • Wei Wang

Below are the 2023 COS faculty and staff who were celebrated for milestone years of service with UTSA and the University of Texas System.

35 Years of Service

  • Laurie Gay

30 Years of Service

  • Stephan Bach
  • Dmitry Gokhman

25 Years of Service

  • Karl Klose
  • Natalie Sjelin

20 Years of Service

  • Gabriel Alaniz
  • Arturo Almeida
  • Kevin Archer
  • Jose Iovino
  • Iliana Salazar
  • Dwayne Williams
  • Hongjie Xie

15 Years of Service

  • Laura Earleywine
  • Igor Halfin
  • Amy Jones
  • Ghassan Nasr
  • Jianhua Ruan
  • Ravinderpal Sandhu
  • Fidel Santamaria
  • Zachery Sharon
  • Matthew Spottswood
  • Monica Trevino Mendez
  • Todd Troyer
  • Xhavit Zogai

10 Years of Service

  • Althea Campuzano
  • Sandra Cardona
  • Mark Eppinger
  • Yongli Gao
  • Matthew Gibson-Lopez
  • Keith Harrison
  • Chin Lin
  • Carolyn Luna
  • Janice Marshall
  • Kathryn Mayer
  • Stanton McHardy
  • Christopher Packham
  • Damien Villarreal

5 Years of Service

  • Adebayo Adeyeye
  • Davood Barakat
  • Jesssica Beckham
  • Nicholas Clanton
  • Angel Cruz
  • Brandon Davis
  • Christopher Duffer
  • Amanda Fernandez
  • Sergio Gamero Alameda
  • Duy Hoang
  • Murtuza Jadliwala
  • Brian Laub
  • Su Liang
  • Lindsey Macpherson
  • Julina Macy
  • Taha Malik
  • Courtney McMahon
  • Amandine Mukengeshayi
  • Karinel Nieves-Merced
  • Tempestt Pouncy
  • Elizabeth Sooby
  • Michael Tidwell
  • Matthew Troia
  • Tina Vega
  • Jeremy West
  • Kristine Yancey