Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content


The University of Texas at San Antonio Online Magazine

In the Loop


Faculty, staff and student achievements

The 2009 University Excellence Awards were given to a number of faculty and staff, including Kelsey Bratcher, assistant director of Risk Education and Alcohol and Drug Programs, Office of Student Activities, Rising Star Award; Leticia Duncan-Brosnan, executive director, Tomás Rivera Center for Student Success, Leadership Award; the Teacher Education Student Services Team, the Team Spirit Award; Andrea Aleman, administrative associate I and lecturer II, Department of Political Science and Geography, the Extra Mile Award; Robert Garza, Institute for Economic Development IT Operations manager, the Order of the Roadrunner Award; and Ann Eisenberg, associate dean, Honors College, and Andrea Aleman, Richard S. Howe Excellence in Service to Undergraduate Students Awards.

Lilian Cano, lecturer in Spanish (non-tenure track), and Malgorzata Oleszkiewicz-Peralba, associate professor of Latin American studies (tenure track), received 2009 Distinguished Faculty Awards from the UTSA Alumni Association and the Student Alumni Association.

Outstanding Sophomore Scholarships were awarded to 10 first-year UTSA students as part of the UTSA Graduation Initiative. Each student received a $5,000 scholarship toward tuition and fees for their second year at UTSA. Recipients and their majors were Bonnie Caulfield (interdisciplinary studies–elementary education), Cassidy Chesser (undecided), Jon Edwards (political science), Joshua “Blue” Garcia (biology), Nick Garcia (biology), Prakash Mammen (pre-business/accounting), Nichole Montalbano (criminal justice), Rachel Skarke (music studies), Derek Smith (kinesiology) and Christina Starkey (mathematics).

Marcheta Evans, associate professor and chair of the Department of Counseling in the UTSA College of Education and Human Development, has been selected to serve as president of the American Counseling Association, the world’s largest counseling association with nearly 45,000 members. Evans will be named president-elect July 1; her term as ACA president begins July 1, 2010.

Cristina Forbes, a UTSA senior business major, was awarded a Next Generation Leadership scholarship for the 2008–2009 academic year from American Humanics, UTSA’s nonprofit management certification program.

UTSA sophomore Devin Gibson and senior Joey Shank were named to the Capitol One Bank/Southland Conference All-Academic Team for men’s basketball.

George Perry, dean of the UTSA College of Sciences and professor of biology, has been named one of the world’s top 100 Alzheimer’s disease researchers, according to a study conducted by Collexis Holdings Inc. and published in the Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease. The Top 100 list was released in the journal’s March online edition.

UTSA debaters Chris Thomas (junior) and Andy Montee (junior) finished 14th in a field of more than 200 teams from across the nation at the Cross Examination Debate Association (CEDA) championship hosted by Idaho State University in Pocatello. Both were honored with CEDA’s All American Debater Award, placing them among the top 25 debaters in the country.

Akshay Thusu and Megan Graham were crowned Mr. and Ms. UTSA 2009. The competition is sponsored by the UTSA Alumni Association.

UTSA’s team from the Office of the Vice President for University Advancement won eight awards, including three grand awards, at the 2009 CASE (Council for Advancement and Support of Education) District IV Conference. Awards went to the Office of Alumni Programs and the Office of University Publications.

Story Index:

First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Email Format:
No Preference HTML Plain Text