Latest campus and coronavirus information Roadrunner Roadmap

Public Health Task Force

This task force will help to guide the tactical teams as they explore how best to protect the health of the UTSA community as an integral part of the planning for re-opening UTSA’s campuses this fall. Using guidance from UT System and the State of Texas, the work of this task force is critical to addressing the health and safety of our students, staff and faculty. 

Task Force Members

Bernard Arulanandam, Co-chair 
Vice President for Research, Economic Development and Knowledge Enterprise & Jane and Roland Blumberg Professor of Biology Department, College of Science

Lynne Cossman, Co-chair 
Professor and Sociology & Dean of the College of Health, Community and Policy

Stephanie De Leon Ansley 
Ph.D. Translational Science candidate, HCaP and UTHSCA, UT Austin and UT School of Public Health Houston

Dan Bellamy 
Associate Athletics Director for Sports Medicine, Athletics Department 

Wanda Boller 
Executive Director, Human Resources Business Partner, Human Resources

Thomas Forsthuber 
Jesse and Mary Gibbs Jones Professor in Biotechnology, Biology Department, College of Science and UT Health San Antonio

Paul Goodman 
Interim Associate Vice President for Facilities Services

Juan Gutiérrez
Professor and Chair, Math Department, College of Science, representing the Department Chairs Council

Melissa Hernandez 
Director, Counseling Center

Jose Lopez-Ribot 
Margaret Batts Tobin Distinguished Chair in Biotechnology, Professor, Biology Department and Associate Dean for Research, College of Science 

Daisy Paredes 
Anthropology and Public Health major, HCaP, UTSA Top Scholar & President’s Student Advisory Council

Kristee Phelps 
Director of Environmental Health, Safety and Risk Management, representing the Staff Senate

Jay Rosselló
Chief Legal Officer, Office of Legal Affairs

Lorenzo Sanchez 
Director of the Office of Risk and Emergency Management

Anjali Shah 
Kinesiology major, HCaP, representing the Student Government Association

Beth Wichman 
Executive Director, Student Health Services and UTSA Chief Medical Officer

Zenong Yin
Loreta J. Lowak Clarke Distinguished Professor in Health and Kinesiology, HCaP Public Health, representing the Faculty Senate

Public Health Expert Advisory Group

The Public Health Task Force will work with a three-member Public Health Expert Advisory Group to develop standards and practices specific to UTSA operations regarding personal protective equipment, social distancing, contact tracing, testing, groups at risk and related matters. The task force, in turn, will provide important input to the Tactical Teams about implementing these public health best practices. Members of the Public Health Expert Advisory Group include:
  • David Lakey
    Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Chief Medical Officer for UT System,
    Former Commissioner, Texas Department of State Health Services

    Area of Expertise: Infectious Diseases

  • Dawn Emerick
    Director of San Antonio Metro Health
    Area of Expertise: Pandemic Public Health Response

  • Jason Bowling
    Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases, UT Health San Antonio
    Areas of Expertise: Hospital Epidemiology, Infection Prevention, Antimicrobial Stewardship and Medical Education

Recovery Operations Committee (ROC)

The Recovery Operations Committee works with the Tactical Teams and university leadership to operationalize the recommendations and offers a consolidated operational response to plan for a successful return to campus operations