Strategic Communications

Current StatusComplete


The Strategic Communications Task Force will develop a comprehensive, integrated marketing program that builds brand awareness and positive perceptions of UTSA. A recently conducted market perceptual survey, presidential priorities, established institutional strengths and key differentiators should be used as resources to create the new brand positioning. Development of this program should include strategic messaging, visual brand identity, web and digital media, earned and paid media strategies, and internal communications and campus activation.

Strategic Plan Midpoint Update (Fall 2022)

To support its strategic transformation, in 2021, UTSA adopted a new administrative structure to improve campus operations, communications and stakeholder engagement. The newly created Office of University Relations, under the leadership of Vice President Teresa Niño, has adopted a mission to build alliances with federal, state, city and county elected officials, global news media, supporters of the university and the general public. This division has primary responsibility for carrying out activities designed to build brand awareness, promote positive perceptions of UTSA and improve stakeholder engagement.

Task Force Chair
Joe Izbrand, Chair 
Associate Vice President for University Communications & Marketing 
Suman Basuroy
Chair, Department of Marketing, College of Business (COB), Chairs Council
Sean Kelly
Dean, Honors College
Brett Calvert
Executive Director of University Marketing, University Communications and Marketing 
Margarita Machado-Casas
Associate Professor, Bicultural-Bilingual Studies
Lisa Campos
Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics and Athletic Director
Red Madden
Lecturer III, Communication, College of Liberal and Fine Arts 
CJ Craig
Vice President of Marketing Strategy, Community Housing Resources Partners, UTSA Alumni Association
Chad Mahood
Associate Professor, Department of Communications, College of Liberal and Fine Arts 
Mary Dixson
Associate Vice Provost, Teaching and Learning 
Adolfo Matamoros
Peter T. Flawn Distinguished Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Christi Fish
Executive Director of University Communications, University Communications and Marketing 
Jan McKinney
Director of Communications and Administration
Kristina Garza
Interim Assistant Vice President of Enrollment Marketing, Communication & Systems 
John Murphy
Dean, College of Architecture, Construction and Planning
Dan Gelo
Dean, College of Liberal and Fine Arts
Anne Peters
Associate Vice President for Presidential Communications and Special Projects, University Relations
K.C. Gonzalez
Associate Director of Communictions, VPAA
Dean Hendrix
Dean of Libraries
Jaclyn Shaw
Assistant Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and Research Partnerships
Nicholas Hernandez, Sr.
Undergraduate Admissions Counselor, UTSA Welcome Center 
Mitzi Shipley
Creative Services Manager, University Communications and Marketing 
Rosalind Horowitz
Professor, Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching
Thomas Tunstall
Senior Research Director, Institute of Economic Development 
Patricia Jaramillo
Lecturer III, Public Administration, College of Public Policy 
Floyd Wormley
Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Sciences

This Initiative Supports Strategic Destinations