Section 1: Transparency - Student Input and the Consultative Campus Process

Describe the consultative process used to develop this proposal. Include information on advisory committee meetings, public hearings, student surveys, etc. that have been utilized to discuss the tuition plan and allow opportunities for student input. Provide the names and affiliations of tuition advisory committee membership below. Please attach summarized feedback from the student population as it relates to the allocation of new net revenue among key institutional priorities outlined in Sections 4 and 5.

In September 2017, President Eighmy appointed an advisory committee to provide input regarding the Tuition and Fee Proposal for Academic Years 2019 and 2020. To ensure a breadth of perspectives, committee members consisted of a broadly representative group of faculty, staff, and students from across the disciplines.

Five public committee meetings were held on campus, on September 28, October 11, November 1, November 13, and November 15, 2017. The meetings were publicized to the campus community through television monitors, university news sites, a committee web site, and extensively through social media.

At the November 13 meeting, a public forum was held that included President Eighmy, students, and advisory Tuition and Fee Committee members. Attendees were encouraged to provide feedback on the Tuition and Fee Proposal.

On November 20, the committee’s executive team met with the Student Government Association (SGA) to receive feedback, answer questions, and gather input about the proposal. The meeting also provided an opportunity for discussion of SGA’s plans to potentially conduct a student referendum on both the Athletic Fee and the Transportation Fee.

Tuition and Fee Committee members were asked to serve as conduit to other groups to ensure transparency and consultation, and to actively engage participation in the discussions.

The Tuition and Fee Committee consisted of the following individuals:

Executive Team

  • Mauli Agrawal, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Kathryn Funk-Baxter, Vice President, Business Affairs
  • Sam Gonzales, Vice President, Student Affairs

Ex-Officio Members

  • Lenora C. Chapman, Associate Vice President, Financial Affairs
  • Anujani Aluwihare, Associate Vice Provost, Financial Resources & Planning
  • Jackie Hobson, Director, Student Affairs Budget & Finance
  • Joseph Izbrand, Associate Vice President, Communications & Marketing

Faculty Members

  • John Nix, Chair of Faculty Senate Budget Committee
  • Josh Thurow, Secretary of the General Faculty

Student Members

  • Moshood Adams, Junior, Psychology
  • Vanessa Andrada, Junior, Medical Humanities
  • Luis Arias, Sophomore, Business Informational Systems
  • Colton Barton, Senior, Sport, Event, & Tourism
  • Joseph Carreon, Senior, SGA, Global Affairs
  • E'Mon, Carson, Sophomore, Medical Humanities
  • Jaciel Castro, Graduate, Real Estate Finance and Development
  • Carlos Chavez, Junior, Public Health
  • Kate Falconer, Junior, Public Health
  • Loy Fong, Junior, Cybersecurity
  • Maria Frick, Junior, Public Administration
  • Brittany Garcia, Junior, Public Health
  • Michal Greenwood, Junior, Mathematics
  • Justin Guerra, Junior, Mathematics
  • Tiwa James, Junior, Public Health
  • Rachel Jendrzey, Junior, Entrepreneurship
  • Simon Karottakuttu, Junior, Public Health
  • Jordan Lindsey, Senior, Communications
  • Cynthia Lopez, Sophomore, Criminal Justice
  • Richard Martin, Junior, Digital Communications
  • Ashley McCowan, Junior, Communications
  • Karen Mejia, Junior, Psychology
  • Aileen Montana, Junior, Communication
  • Nicholas Ng, Senior, Kinesiology
  • Emmanuel Nyong, Junior, College of Sciences Arianna
  • Pulido, Freshman, Political Science
  • Patrick Seaworth, Junior, College of Business
  • Aija Terry, Sophomore, History
  • Marcus Thomas, Senior, Economics
  • Joelle Thomas, Sophomore, Communication
  • Deon Turner, Graduate, Higher Ed Administration
  • Richard Wells, Junior, Philosophy

Over the course of its meetings, the Tuition and Fee Committee reviewed and discussed the following topics:

The committee’s charge - balancing revenue needs versus costs to students

  • Tuition and fee structure/comparison with other Texas universities
  • Student success trends and initiatives
  • Differential tuition for the College of Business and College of Engineering
  • Impact on student affordability
  • Athletic Fee
  • Automated Service Fee
  • Student Services Fee
  • Transportation Fee
  • Green Fee
  • Review of major strategic initiatives
  • Cost saving measures
  • Proposed changes in total academic costs

The committee maintained a public website for all materials associated with its work, including meeting agendas and presentation materials.

Student Services Fee Committee

A separate committee—comprised of nine students, one faculty member, one staff member, plus ex-officio staff members—was formed to consider the Student Services Fee. The committee’s role was to provide input on the fee and to determine how to best allocate funds generated by it. The committee voted unanimously to approve/recommend a 2.5 percent increase in the Student Services Fee for Academic Years 2019 and 2020.

Automated Services Fee

The Office of Information Technology meets regularly with the SGA on the needs and uses of the Automated Services Fee revenue.

Proposal Process

Subsequent to the submission of this proposal, President Eighmy will invite students (particularly those who served on the committee) to attend briefing meetings with legislators and legislative staff to discuss the proposal and provide additional feedback. The meetings are planned for January 2018. Meetings between President Eighmy, elected officials, and legislative staff will also be held prior to the proposal being considered by the Board of Regents.