UTSA The University of Texas at San Antonio

 About Us

 Geological Sciences Mission

The Department of Geological Sciences is committed to:

Advancing scientific knowledge in geological sciences through collaborative and interdisciplinary research at local, national and international levels;

Providing quality educational opportunities for undergraduate and graduate studens, especially for individuals from historically underrepresented and disadvantaged groups and for full-time working professionals;

Meeting needs of society for Earth scientists through local and regional service on technical advisory committees and through national and international professional organizations; and

Enhancing competence and interest in geological sciences in the community to help find solutions to complex multi-disciplinary problems involving Earth systems.


 Geological Sciences Vision

The Department of Geological Sciences envisions itself a nationally and internationally recognized center of excellence in near-surface Earth systems interactions and a leading department for research, education, and community service in geological sciences in the South-Central Texas.


The Department of Geological Sciences includes 8 tenured, tenure-track faculty and several non-tenured and research faculty who teach and lead research programs in the geological sciences.

Research awards in the Department from the National Science Foundation, NASA, Department of Education, U.S. Army, and other agencies support our local and regional development of research initiatives in geological sciences and collaborations in research on national and international levels.
Our research laboratories provide both undergraduate and graduate students the opportunity to learn, participate, and acquire skills in areas of geological or earth systems study.

Our research facilities include laboratories for biogeochemistry, hydrogeology, engineering geology, isotope geochemistry, micropaleontology and stratigraphy, remote sensing and spatial analysis, river science, and x-ray diffraction.

 Program History:

UTSA’s undergraduate Geology program started in 1976 and the graduate (masters) program started in 1986 with emphases in water resources and environmental geology. In 1986, UTSA founded the Center for Water Research (CWR) to promote a multidisciplinary approach to research on water resources in San Antonio and South Texas.

UTSA's undergraduate degree in Multidisciplinary Science started in 1995. The program is primarily for students preparing to teach science at the secondary level. It is a composite degree made up of course work taken from different science programs in the College of Sciences.



Department of Geological Sciences
Flawn Building (FLN) 4.02.08

One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249-0663

Phone: (210) 458-4455
Fax: (210) 458-4469
Email: geosciences@utsa.edu


         QUICK LINKS

 UTSA's Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property — for Texas, the nation and the world.

 UTSA's Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

 UTSA's Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.


© The University of Texas at San Antonio | One UTSA Circle, San Antonio TX 78249 |
Information: 210-458-4011 | UTSA Police: 210-458-4242