Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Standing Committees

Sustainability Council

The UTSA Sustainability Council consists of faculty, staff and students from the three campuses and includes representatives from the offices of the President and each of the Vice Presidents. The Council functions as a university standing committee and its chair and members will be appointed by the President and/or his/her designee.

The Council will advise the President, Provost and other senior administrators regarding strategies for enhancing the university's sustainability performance. The Council will make recommendations on sustainability programs, initiatives, and practices, and on the allocation of resources; will help monitor the development and progress of the campus sustainability efforts; and will provide guidance and assistance in fostering alliances with community partners.

The Council is responsible for developing a five-year sustainability plan. The Council will review and update the plan on an annual basis and present it to Senior Leadership Team for approval, support and provision of resources. The Council has the responsibility of preparing an annual report on the progress of the university-wide sustainability plan. In addition, the Council will be responsible for preparing the annual UTSA Campus Sustainability report for The University of Texas System (UT System).

John Murphy, Chair Dean, College of Architecture, Construction and Planning
Lane Brinson Director, Purchasing
Courtney Clevenger Assistant Director of University Communications
Linda Day Director, Texas Sustainable Energy Research Institute
Brittany Garcia SGA President
Daniel Gockley Director, Student Housing and Residence Life
Sara Hada Vice President for Research, Economic Development and Knowledge Enterprise
Clay Haverland Associate VP, Campus Services
Jaden Kelly Green Society President
Daniel Kiley Assistant Chief of Police
David Matiella Architecture, LEED Advocate
Lani May Director of UTSA Office of Sustainability
Melissa May Director of Communications, VPBA
Ben Perry Assistant VP, Facilities Planning and Development
Kevin Price Senior Associate VP for Student Affairs
Lindsay Ratcliffe Communications Specialist
Dave Riker Associate VP for Facilities
Francine Romero Associate Dean, Faculty, COPP
Lucy Schoolfield Director, SGA Green Council

Last updated 8/28/2018