Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Standing Committees

Core Curriculum Committee

The Core Curriculum Committee will provide recommendations to the Provost related to the on-going development, implementation and evaluation of the University’s core curriculum.  This includes the review of:

(1) proposals submitted for specific UTSA courses designed to satisfy the UTSA core curriculum requirements and learning objectives,
(2) existing core curriculum courses regarding their continued inclusion in the Core Curriculum and
(3) all assessment data related to the effectiveness of the existing core curriculum, including data collected related to internal, on-going core course evaluation and results from standardized external instruments.

Recommendations and decisions regarding the core curriculum will be based on the expressed purposes of the core curriculum components and relevant learning objectives.

The Associate Vice Provost for QEP-Core Curriculum, in his or her capacity as chair of the Core Curriculum Committee, will submit to the Provost, no later than August 31 of each academic year, a report summarizing the results of the committee's work. Voting members shall serve two-year terms except for the student member who shall serve a one-year term. No voting member shall be eligible to serve more than two consecutive terms.

Structure: 14 members

The Core Curriculum Committee will be appointed by the President or Provost and will consist of the following members:

1 faculty member from each college (7 total)
1 faculty representative from the Writing Program
1 undergraduate student
Assistant Vice Provost for Assessment (ex officio without vote)
Representative from Admissions (ex officio without vote)
Associate Vice Provost for QEP-Core Curriculum (ex officio without vote)
Project Director of QEP (ex officio without vote)
Representative of University Core Curriculum Assessment Committee (ex officio without vote)


John Alexander College of Architecture, Construction and Planning 8/31/2016
David Han College of Business 8/31/2016
Marco Cervantes College of Education and Human Development 8/31/2016
Brian Kelley College of Engineering 8/31/2015
Ann Eisenberg College of Liberal and Fine Arts 8/31/2015
Chris Reddick College of Public Policy 8/31/2016
Terri Matiella College of Sciences 8/31/2015
Lindsay Ratcliffe Writing Core Program & Representative of Core Curriculum Assessment Committee 8/31/2015
Steven Rodriguez Undergraduate Student 8/31/2015
Kim Kline Assistant Vice Provost for Assessment Ex officio
Cindy Dermody Associate Director of Admissions, Office of Admissions Ex officio
Nancy Martin, Chair Associate Vice Provost for the QEP and Core Curriculum Ex officio
Rajendra Boppana Project Director of QEP Ex officio

Last updated 8/25/2014