Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Standing Committees

Laboratory Safety Committee

The Laboratory Safety Committee (LSC) shall review compliance with established regulatory and institutional policy and shall oversee matters pertaining to safety in areas within the Committee’s purview. The LSC has the authority to take binding, corrective action for violation of safety policies and procedures by any individual Principal Investigator, faculty member, research group, other institutional unit, or individual associated with UTSA found to be in non-compliance with federal, state or local regulations, institutional policy, or mandated safety training. The LSC shall review, approve and adopt institutional policies supporting good laboratory practices and use of laboratory equipment, all in accordance with established law and regulations, including policies and required practices relative to the safe receipt, use, storage, and disposal of hazardous biological, chemical, radioactive materials or radiation producing machines, toxic and controlled substances, and other safety and security practices in UTSA laboratories.  The LSC serves in an advisory capacity to the Vice President for Business Affairs; the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; and the Vice President for Research regarding laboratory safety matters and laboratory facilities.

Structure:  19 members, 17 voting

Assistant VP for Research Integrity, VPR
Associate Vice President for Facilities, VPBA, or designee
Chair of the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)
Chair of the Chemical Safety Committee (CSC)
Chair of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)
Chair of the Radiation and Laser Safety Committee (R & LSC)
Chief of Police & Director of Public Safety, VPBA, or designee
Dean, College of Sciences, or designee
Dean, College of Engineering, or designee
Dean, College of Liberal and Fine Arts, or designee
Director of the Lab Animal Resources Center, VPR
Director of Environmental Health, Safety and Risk Management (EHSRM), Police and Public Safety, VPBA
Faculty Representative for teaching laboratories from COS, COE, or COLFA
Graduate Student representative from COS, COE, or COLFA
Laboratory Compliance Manager (Director for IBC, CSC, and R & LSC), Office of Research Integrity, VPR
Laboratory Safety Manager, Office of EHSRM, Police and Public Safety, VPBA
Senior Vice Provost
Director, Facilities Operations and Maintenance, VPBA (Ex Officio without vote)
Secretary, Administrative Associate, Office of EHSRM, Police and Public Safety, VPBA (Ex Officio without vote)

Last updated 12/1/2015