Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

 

Apply Here

 

 

 

  What is this?
  Check it out
  here.

 

 

For more information or to report web problems, contact
Dr. Gail Taylor

 

 

 

 

Approved MARC-U*STAR and RISE Mentors


Note: Mathematics and Statistics will work with faculty from other departments

 

Biology
Biomedical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Physics
Psychology

 


Biology Mentors
Bernard Arulanandam, Ph.D.

bernard.arulanandam@utsa.edu

Research: Mucosal Immunity

Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.

edwin.barea@utsa.edu

Research: Neurobiology of Aging

Astrid Cardona, Ph.D.

astrid.cardona@utsa.edu

Research: Multiple Sclerosis

Mark Eppinger, Ph.D.

mark.eppinger@utsa.edu

Research: Microbial Genomics

Thomas Forsthuber, M.D., Ph.D.

thomas.forsthuber@utsa.edu

Research: Immunology; Autoimmune Diseases

Matthew Gdovin, Ph.D.

matthew.gdovin@utsa.edu

Research: Neural Control of Respiration

Brian Hermann, Ph.D.

brian.hermann@utsa.edu

Research: Spermatogonial Stem Cells

David Jaffe, Ph.D.

david.jaffe@utsa.edu

Research: Hippocampal Neurons

Karl Klose, Ph.D.

karl.klose@utsa.edu

Research: Bacterial Pathogenesis

Soo Chan Lee, Ph.D.

soochan.lee@utsa.edu

Research: Fungal Morphogenesis

Annie Lin, Ph.D.

annie.lin@utsa.edu

Research: Stem Cell and Cancer Biology

Jose Lopez-Ribot, Pharm.D., Ph.D.

jose.lopezribot@utsa.edu

Research: Fungal Pathogenesis

Martha Lundell, Ph.D.

martha.lundell@utsa.edu

Research: Neurogenesis

John McCarrey, Ph.D.

john.mccarrey@utsa.edu

Research: Mammalian Germ Cells

Isabel Muzzio, Ph.D.

isabel.muzzio@utsa.edu

Research: Episodic Memory and Spatial Navigation

Carlos Paladini, Ph.D.

carlos.paladini@utsa.edu

Research: Dopamine System Physiology

Robert Renthal, Ph.D.

robert.renthal@utsa.edu

Research: Insect Sensory Reception

Stephen Saville, Ph.D.

stephen.saville@utsa.edu

Research: Fungal Pathogenesis

Valerie Sponsel, Ph.D.

valerie.sponsel@utsa.edu

Research: Plant Growth and Development

Garry Sunter, Ph.D.

garry.sunter@utsa.edu

Research: Epigenetics; Plant Virology

Todd Troyer, Ph.D.

todd.troyer@utsa.edu

Research: Neural and Behavioral Dynamics

Matthew Wanat, Ph.D.

matthew.wanat@utsa.edu

Research: Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior

Yufeng Wang, Ph.D.

yufeng.wang@utsa.edu

Research: Bioinformatics; Genomics

Nicole Wicha, Ph.D.

nicole.wicha@utsa.edu

Research: Neural Basis of Language

Charles Wilson, Ph.D.

charles.wilson@utsa.edu

Research: Circuitry and Neurons of the Basal Ganglia

Floyd Wormley Jr., Ph.D.

floyd.wormley@utsa.edu

Research: Host-Fungal Interactions

return to top

Biomedical Engineering Mentors
Mark Appleford, Ph.D.

mark.appleford@utsa.edu

Research: Tissue-Biomaterial Interactions

Rena Bizios, Ph.D.

rena.bizios@utsa.edu

Research: Tissue-Biomaterial Interactions

Ender Finol, Ph.D.

ender.finol@utsa.edu

Research: Biomaterials

Teja Guda, Ph.D.

teja.guda@utsa.edu

Research: Tissue Engineering

Hai-Chao Han, Ph.D.

haichao.han@utsa.edu

Research: Cardiovascular Biomechanics

Yufei Huang, Ph.D.

yufei.huang@utsa.edu

Research: Computational Genomics and Proteomics

Joo Ong, Ph.D.

anson.ong@utsa.edu

Research: Biomaterials

Xiaodu Wang, Ph.D.

xiaodu.wang@utsa.edu

Research: Bone Biomechanics

Jing Yong Ye, Ph.D.

jingyong.ye@utsa.edu

Research: Nanobiotechnology; Biomedical Optics

return to top

Chemistry Mentors
Stephan Bach, Ph.D.

stephen.bach@utsa.edu

Research: Mass Spectrometry

Michael Doyle, Ph.D.

michael.doyle@utsa.edu

Research: Catalytic Processes

Doug Frantz, Ph.D.

doug.frantz@utsa.edu

Research: Synthetic Methodology in Organic Chemistry

Waldemar Gorski, Ph.D.

waldemar.gorski@utsa.edu

Research: Electroanalysis; Electrocatalysis

Donald Kurtz, Ph.D.

donald.kurtz@utsa.edu

Research: Non-heme Iron Enzymes

Oleg Larionov, Ph.D.

oleg.larionov@utsa.edu

Research: Complex Molecule Synthesis

Aimin Liu, Ph.D.

aimin.liu@utsa.edu

Research: Biomolecules

Ghezai Musie, Ph.D.

ghezai.musie@utsa.edu

Research: Role of Transition Metal Ions

George Negrete, Ph.D.

george.negrete@utsa.edu

Research: Synthesis

Zachary Tonzetich, Ph.D.

zachary.tonzetich@utsa.edu

Research: Synthetic Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry

Francis Yoshimoto, Ph.D.

francis.yoshimoto@utsa.edu

Research: Chemical Synthesis and Enzymology

John Zhao, Ph.D.

cong.zhao@utsa.edu

Research: Synthesis

return to top

Computer Science Mentors
Kay Robbins, Ph.D.

krobbins@cs.utsa.edu

Research: Multimedia Data Sets

return to top

Physics Mentors
Lorenzo Brancaleon, Ph.D.

lorenzo.brancaleon@utsa.edu

Research: Molecular Biophysics; Photophysics

Liao Chen, Ph.D.

liao.chen@utsa.edu

Research: Biophysics

Miguel Jose-Yacaman, Ph.D.

miguel.yacaman@utsa.edu

Research: Nanoparticles

Marcelo Marucho, Ph.D.

marcelo.marucho@utsa.edu

Research: Statistical Mechanical Theories; Computational Approaches

Kathryn Mayer, Ph.D.

kathryn.mayer@utsa.edu

Research: Bio-nano Interface

Carlos Monton, Ph.D.

carlos.monton@utsa.edu

Research: Magneto-electrical Properties of Nanosized Materials

Kelly Nash, Ph.D.

kelly.nash@utsa.edu

Research: Biophotonics and Nanomaterials

Dhiraj Sardar, Ph.D.

dhiraj.sardar@utsa.edu

Research: Nanoparticles

return to top

Psychology Mentors
Michael Baumann, Ph.D.

michael.baumann@utsa.edu

Research: Social & Organizational Psychology

Stella Lopez, Ph.D.

stella.lopez@utsa.edu

Research: Social and Personality Psychology

Augustine Osman, Ph.D.

augustine.osman@utsa.edu

Research: Clinical, Applied Behavior Analysis, and Behavioral Medicine

David Pillow, Ph.D.

david.pillow@utsa.edu

Research: Social & Clinical Psychology

Rebecca Weston, Ph.D.

rebecca.weston@utsa.edu

Research: Experimental Psychology

return to top