Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

 

 

 

  What is this?
  Check it out
  here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Approved MARC-U*STAR and RISE Mentors


Note: Mathematics and Statistics will work with faculty from other departments

 

Biology
Biomedical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Physics
Psychology

 


Biology Mentors

Bernard Arulanandam, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, UTSA
Bernard.Arulanandam@utsa.edu

Research: Mucosal Immunity

Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.
Professor of Neurobiology, UTSA
Edwin.Barea@utsa.edu

Research: Neurobiology of Aging

Astrid Cardona, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neuroimmunology & Fractalkine Receptor Biology, UTSA
Astrid.Cardona@utsa.edu

Research: Multiple Sclerosis

Gary Cole, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology, UTSA
Gary.Cole@utsa.edu

Research: Fungal Disease

Thomas Forsthuber, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Immunology, UTSA
Adjunct Professor of Pathology, UTHSCSA
Thomas.Forsthuber@utsa.edu

Research: Immunology; Autoimmune Diseases

Matthew Gdovin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Evolutionary Biology, UTSA
Matthew.Gdovin@utsa.edu

Research: Neural Control of Respiration

Luis Haro, Ph.D.
Professor of Cell & Molecular Biology, UTSA
Luis.Haro@utsa.edu

Research: Pituitary and Placental Hormones

Brian Hermann, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Cell Biology, UTSA
Brian.Hermann@utsa.edu

Research: Spermatogonial Stem Cells

David Jaffe, Ph.D.
Professor of Neurobiology, UTSA
David.Jaffe@utsa.edu

Research: Hippocampal Neurons

Karl Klose, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology, UTSA
Karl.Klose@utsa.edu

Research: Bacterial Pathogenesis

Richard LeBaron, Ph.D.
Professor of Cell & Molecular Biology, UTSA
Richard.LeBaron@utsa.edu

Research: Cell Microenvironment

Jose Lopez-Ribot, Pharm.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Biology, UTSA
Jose.LopezRibot@utsa.edu

Research: Fungal Pathogenesis

Martha Lundell, Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular Genetics, UTSA
Martha.Lundell@utsa.edu

Research: Neurogenesis

John McCarrey, Ph.D.
Professor of Cell & Molecular Biology
John.McCarrey@utsa.edu

Research: Mammalian Germ Cells

Christopher Navara, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Reproductive and Developmental Molecular Biology, UTSA
Christopher.Navara@utsa.edu

Research: Embryonic Stem Cells

Carlos Paladini, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neuroscience, UTSA
Carlos.Paladini@utsa.edu

Research: Dopamine System Physiology

Robert Renthal, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry, UTSA
Robert.Renthal@utsa.edu

Research: Insect Sensory Reception

Fidel Santamaria, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Computation and Neural Systems, UTSA
Fidel.Santamaria@utsa.edu

Research: Sub-cellular Information Processing in Neurons

Stephen Saville, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Genetics, UTSA
Stephen.Saville@utsa.edu

Research: Fungal Pathogenesis

Janakiram Seshu, B.V.Sc., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Bacterial Pathogenesis, UTSA
J.Seshu@utsa.edu

Research: Infectious Disease

Johnny Short, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology Research Instructor, UTHSCSA
shortj@uthscsa.edu

Research: Hepatocellular Carcinoma

Valerie Sponsel, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology, UTSA
Valerie.Sponsel@utsa.edu

Research: Plant Growth and Development

Garry Sunter, Ph.D.
Professor of Plant Pathology, UTSA
Garry.Sunter@utsa.edu

Research: Epigenetics; Plant Virology

Judy Teale, Ph.D.
Professor of Immunology, UTSA
Judy.Teale@utsa.edu

Research: Immunobiology

Todd Troyer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neuroscience, UTSA
Todd.Troyer@utsa.edu

Research: Neural and Behavioral Dynamics

Andrew Tsin, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry and Physiology, UTSA
Andrew.Tsin@utsa.edu

Research: Eye Diseases

Matthew Wanat, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology, UTSA
Matthew.Wanat@utsa.edu

Research: Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior

Yufeng Wang, Ph.D.
Professor of Bioinformatics, UTSA
Yufeng.Wang@utsa.edu

Research: Bioinformatics; Genomics

Nicole Wicha, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology, UTSA
Nicole.Wicha@utsa.edu

Research: Neural Basis of Language

Floyd Wormley Jr., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, UTSA
Floyd.Wormley@utsa.edu

Research: Host-Fungal Interactions

return to top

Biomedical Engineering Mentors

Mauli Agrawal, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor of Biomedical Engineering, UTSA
Mauli.Agrawal@utsa.edu

Research: Orthopedic and Cardiovascular Biomaterials

Mark Appleford, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, UTSA
Mark.Appleford@utsa.edu

Research: Tissue-Biomaterial Interactions

Rena Bizios, Ph.D.
Professor of Biomedical Engineering, UTSA
Rena.Bizios@utsa.edu

Research: Tissue-Biomaterial Interactions

Ender Finol, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, UTSA
Ender.Finol@utsa.edu

Research: Biomaterials

Hai-Chao Han, Ph.D.
Professor of Mechanical Engineering, UTSA
Haichao.Han@utsa.edu

Research: Cardiovascular Biomechanics

Yufei Huang, Ph.D.
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, UTSA
Yufei.Huang@utsa.edu

Research: Computational Genomics and Proteomics

Joo Ong, Ph.D.
Professor of Biomedical Engineering, UTSA
Anson.Ong@utsa.edu

Research: Biomaterials

Anand Ramasubramanian, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, UTSA
Anand.Ramasubramanian@utsa.edu

Research: Vascular Bioengineering

Matthew Reilly, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, UTSA
Matthew.Reilly@utsa.edu

Research: Biomimetic Materials

Liang Tang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, UTSA
Liang.Tang@utsa.edu

Research: Nano-biotechnology; Biomolecular Engineering

Xiaodu Wang, Ph.D.
Professor of Mechanical Engineering, UTSA
Xiaodu.Wang@utsa.edu

Research: Bone Biomechanics

Jing Yong Ye, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, UTSA
Jingyong.Ye@utsa.edu

Research: Nano-biotechnology; Biomedical Optics

return to top

Chemistry Mentors

Stephan Bach, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry, UTSA
Stephen.Bach@utsa.edu

Research: Mass spectrometry

Doug Frantz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry, UTSA
Doug.Frantz@utsa.edu

Research: Synthetic Methodology in Organic Chemistry

Waldemar Gorski, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry, UTSA
Waldemar.Gorski@utsa.edu

Research: Electroanalysis; Electrocatalysis

Donald Kurtz, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry, UTSA
Donald.Kurtz@utsa.edu

Research: Non-heme Iron Enzymes

Oleg Larionov, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry, UTSA
Oleg.Larionov@utsa.edu

Research: Complex Molecule Synthesis

George Negrete, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry, UTSA
George.Negrete@utsa.edu

Research: Synthesis

John Zhao, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry, UTSA
Cong.Zhao@utsa.edu

Research: Synthesis

return to top

Computer Science Mentors

Kay Robbins, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science, UTSA
krobbins@cs.utsa.edu

Research: Multimedia Data Sets

Jianhua Ruan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Computer Science, UTSA
jruan@cs.utsa.edu

Research: Bioinformatics; Computational Biology

Qi Tian, Ph.D.
Professor of Computer Science, UTSA
qitian@cs.utsa.edu

Research: Computational Biology

return to top

Physics Mentors

Lorenzo Brancaleon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Physics, UTSA
Lorenzo.Brancaleon@utsa.edu

Research: Molecular Biophysics; Photophysics

Andrey Chabanov, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Physics, UTSA
Andrey.Chabanov@utsa.edu

Research: Wave Phenomena; Photonics

Liao Chen, Ph.D.
Professor of Physics, UTSA
Liao.Chen@utsa.edu

Research: Biophysics

Miguel Jose-Yacaman, Ph.D.
Professor of Physics, UTSA
Miguel.Yacaman@utsa.edu

Research: Nanoparticles

Dhiraj Sardar, Ph.D.
Professor of Physics, UTSA
Dhiraj.Sardar@utsa.edu

Research: Nanoparticles

return to top

Psychology Mentors

Michael Baumann, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology, UTSA
Michael.Baumann@utsa.edu

Research: Social & Organizational Psychology

Deborah Mangold, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology, UTSA
Deborah.Mangold@utsa.edu

Research: Biological Psychology; Psychopathology

Mary McNaughton-Cassill, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology, UTSA
Mary.Mcnaughtoncassill@utsa.edu

Research: Clinical Psychology

David Pillow, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology, UTSA
David.Pillow@utsa.edu

Research: Social & Clinical Psychology

Rebekah Smith, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology, UTSA
Rebekah.Smith@utsa.edu

Research: Cognitive Psychology

Tina Zawacki, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology, UTSA
Tina.Zawacki@utsa.edu

Research: Social Behavior and Health

return to top