Standard for Learning Management System Data Retention

 

The retention of UTSA courses data from the Learning Management System (LMS) Blackboard is governed by the university's records retention policy.

This standard pertains to the current LMS (Blackboard Learn 9.1).

The university data retention policy is currently located under Section 1.4 over here:

 

ONLINE LEARNING IMPLEMENTATION 

Course Status Course Content and Student Data
Courses with student records: immediate live access Online Learning will retain all data in for-credit courses live in Blackboard Learn, including student data, for the time period specified in the UTSA records retention policy. This includes content, faculty and student communication, assignments, tests and results, and students' papers used to determine the students' grades. These courses will be immediately available to pertinent faculty members and students who are completing Incompletes. The courses will not be available to any other students. Online Learning complies with the UTSA policy on Incompletes. After one year from the semester end date in which the courses were taught, these courses will be archived and removed from Blackboard Learn server and retained offline. For more information regarding Incompletes, please review the University's policy.
Courses with student records:
offline archives

Online Learning will retain a copy of all for-credit courses offered through Blackboard Learn, including student data, for the time period specified in the UTSA records retention policy. This includes content, faculty and student communication, assignments, tests and results, and students' papers used to determine the students' grades. These courses can be restored and made available to pertinent faculty members upon request; please allow a minimum of two weeks to restore a course.

Only the Blackboard system administrator can "restore" an archived course to the Blackboard Learn production server. If you would like to request a course be restored, 

  1. Please click HERE to login to the OIT portal and under the Service Catalog, select Blackboard Learn.
  2. On the right select the tile "Request a Course to be Restored from previous semester"
  3. Provide the information requested in the form. 
  4. Submit the form.

 The request should come from the course instructor, Department Chair, or Dean.

 



 

SCHEDULE OF COURSE REMOVAL 

Academic Term Course Offered Blackboard Learning Platform Course Content With Student Data Retained Live In Blackboard Until: Course Archives  With Content and Student Data Retained Offline Until:
Fall 2013 Learn 9.1 December 31, 2014 December 31, 2018
Spring 2014 Learn 9.1 May 15, 2015 May 15, 2019
Summer 2014 Learn 9.1  August 31, 2015  August 15, 2019
Fall 2014 Learn 9.1 December 31, 2015 December 31, 2019
Spring 2015 Learn 9.1 May 15, 2016 May 15, 2020
Summer 2015 Learn 9.1 ​ August 31, 2016 ​ August 15, 2020
​​Fall 2015 Learn 9.1 December 31, 2016 December 31, 2020
​​Spring 2016 Learn 9.1 May 15, 2017 May 15, 2021
Summer 2016 ​Learn 9.1
​August 31, 2017
​August 15, 2021
Fall 2016 Learn 9.1 December 31, 2017 December 31, 2021
Spring 2017 Learn 9.1 May 15, 2018 May 15, 2022
Summer 2017 Learn 9.1 August 31, 2018 August 31, 2022
Fall 2017 Learn 9.1 December 31, 2018 December 31, 2022
Spring 2018 Learn 9.1 May 15, 2019 May 15, 2023
Summer 2018 Learn 9.1 August 31, 2019 August 31, 2023
Fall 2018 Learn 9.1 December 31, 2020 December 31, 2023

 

Examples

  • All Blackboard courses created in Summer 2012 will be deleted on August 15, 2017.
  • All Blackboard courses created in Fall 2012 will be deleted on December 31, 2017.
  • All Blackboard courses created in Spring 2013 will be deleted on May 15, 2018. 

<< Back