A student's ability to register for classes at Orientation is affected by their Meningococcal Meningitis hold status. Texas law requires all incoming students under the age of 22 attending a college or university in the state of Texas, including transfer students, to submit written proof of having received the Meningococcal Meningitis vaccination within the last five years. You will be unable to register for classes at UTSA until the documentation showing you received the initial bacterial meningitis vaccination or booster dose within the last five-years, within 10 days of the first day of classes.
What documentation is needed to show "proof"?
The following are acceptable in showing proof of your immunization:
- A document bearing the signature or stamp of a physician or the physician’s designee or the public health official that administered the vaccination that shows the month, day and year the required vaccine was administered.
- An official immunization record generated from the state or local health authority.
- An official record received directly from a Texas school official, or a school official in another state.
All documentation must be in English, state the name and other information sufficient to identify the individual who received the required vaccination; and clearly identify that the required vaccine was administered to the individual. Please be sure that your name, birth date, and doctor/clinic name are listed on EACH page of your documentation.
How can I submit these documentation?
- In Person: Main Campus: Recreation Wellness Center, room 1.500
- Mail: UTSA Student Health Services, One UTSA Circle, San Antonio, TX 78249
- Fax: (210) 458-4151
- Scan and E-mail: StudentHealthServices@utsa.edu
To verify that documents have been received by UTSA, Check your ASAP account to see if your hold has been removed. We will call or email you if additional information is needed. If you have not received a phone call or an email message and you still have the hold, please call (210) 458-6412.
If you need to recieve immunization:
- Consult with your Healthcare Provider
- Contact the San Antonio Metropolitan Health District at (210) 207-8790
- Contact the UTSA Student Health Services at (210) 458-4142
Can I be exempt?
You are automatically exempt if you are 22 years of age or older by the first day of classes.
Other ways to earn an exemption:
- a student enrolled only in online or other distance education courses
- an individual taking a continuing education course or program that is less than 360 contact hours
- unable to take the vaccine because of medical reasons (you must submit letter of evidence in person or by mail from a health care provider to UTSA Student Health Services)
- declining the vaccine due to reasons of conscience, including a religious belief. In order to receive this exemption, a students must use the official Texas Department of State Health Services (TDSHS) affidavit form. The TDSHS affidavit form must be completely filled out, signed in the correct areas, and notarized and sent to Student Health Services within 90 days from the date it was notarized. It is the student’s responsibility to complete this form and have it notarized. Only the original form will be accepted.