Home · About the Department · Site map · Contact
Faculty
  TENURE / TENURE TRACK
   
  AlleyWilliam R. Alley
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5459
Office: BSE 1.104H
E-Mail: william.alley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Bioanalytical Chemistry
• Glycomics
• Glycoproteomics/Proteomics
• Analytical Glycobiology
• Mass Spectrometry
  Stephan B. H. Bach
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-6896
Office: BSE 1.104D
E-Mail: stephen.bach@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Mass Spectrometry

• Chemical Imaging

• Metal Clusters
• Nanomaterials

 
       
  Banglin Chen
Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5461
Office: BSE 1.104C
E-Mail: banglin.chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Nanoporous metal-organic frameworks
• Nanoparticles
• Functionalization of nano-sized cavities
 

Orkid Coskuner-Weber
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5444
Office: BSE 1.104N
E-Mail: orkid.coskunerweber@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Identification of active sites of biocomplexes
• Structure-function relationships of biomolecules

and biometallic species
• Reaction mechanism description between ligands and receptors [...]

       
  Walter C. Ermler
Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-7005
Office: BSE 1.104E
E-Mail: walter.ermler@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Computational Spectroscopy
• Modeling Heavy-element Compounds
• Theoretical Chemistry
  Doug Frantz
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-7048
Office: BSE 4.258
E-Mail: doug.frantz@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Medicinal Chemistry
• Process Chemistry
• Asymmetric Catalysis
• Heterocyclic Synthesis
• Physical Organic Chemistry
Laboratory Web Page
       
  John Frederick
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Office Phone: (210) 458-4110
Office: MB 4.120N
E-Mail: John.Frederick@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Computational molecular dynamics, with a special emphasis on the study of molecular vibrations and structural rearrangements induced by the absorption of light
  Carlos D. Garcia
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5774
Office: BSE 1.104L
E-Mail: carlos.garcia@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Adsorption Kinetics and Structure of Proteins on CNT
• Bioanalytical Chemistry
• Coupling Micro-organisms to Microfluidics
       
 
Waldemar Gorski
Professor and Department Chair

Office Phone: (210) 458-4961
Office: BSE 1.104M
E-Mail: waldemar.gorski@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Electrochemical Enzyme Assays
• Electrochemical (Bio)sensors and Modified Electrodes
• Electrode Films
  Hyunsoo Han
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5456
Office: BSE 1.104K
E-Mail: hyunsoo.han@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Asymmetric catalysis
• Organic Synthesis
• Polymer and combinatorial chemistry
       
  Harry Wellington Jarrett III
Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-7053
Office: BSE 1.104G
E-Mail: harry.jarrett@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Muscular Dystrophy and Signal
transduction
• Transcription factor purification
  Donald Kurtz Jr.
Lutcher Brown Distinguished Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-7060
Office: BSE 4.324
E-Mail: donald.kurtz@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Bioinorganic chemistry
• Non-heme iron enzymes
       
 

Oleg Larionov
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-6050
Office: BSE 4.117
E-Mail: oleg.larionov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
Medicinal Chemistry
Synthesis of biologically active natural products
Enantioselective catalysis

 

Ghezai Musie
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5454
Office: BSE 1.104F
E-Mail: ghezai.musie@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
Inorganic Chemistry
Bioinorganic Chemistry
Catalysis and materials

• Green Chemistry

       
 

George R. Negrete
Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5448
Office: BSE 1.104J
E-Mail: george.negrete@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• β-Homoamino Acids
• Asymmetric Synthesis
• Chemical Carcinogenesis
• Green Chemistry
• Novel Lipopeptides

  Zachary J. Tonzetich
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5465
Office: BSE 1.104B
E-Mail: zachary.tonzetich@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Synthetic inorganic and organometallic chemistry
• Bioinorganic chemistry
• Catalysis
• Odd-electron organometallics
• Kinetics and mechanism of inorganic reactions
       
  Judith A. Walmsley
Professor Emeritus

Phone: (480) 584-4869
E-Mail: judith.walmsley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Biomolecular Structure
• Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry
• Nucleotide Structures
  John C.-G. Zhao
Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5432
Office: BSE 1.104A
E-Mail: cong.zhao@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Asymmetric synthesis and reactions
• Oxidation
• Phosphorus chemistry
• Small ring compounds
       
 
 

 

 

  NON-TENURE TRACK
   
 

Victoria Dougherty
Lecturer II

Office Phone: (210)458-5473
Office: BSE 1.340
E-Mail: victoria.dougherty@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization


  Lydia Martínez Rivera
Lecturer III / Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Office Phone: (210)458-7051
Office: BSE 1.338
E-Mail: lydia.martinezrivera@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• photochemistry of nucleic acids and proteins
• phototoxicity of xenobiotics
• chemical education
       
 

Stanton McHardy
Associate Profressor of Research

Office Phone: (210) 458-8676
Office: SRL 1.438
E-Mail: stanton.mchardy@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization




  Susan Thomas
Lecturer III

Office Phone: (210) 458-7051
Office: BSE 1.338
E-Mail: susan.thomas@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
       
  Raymond Sadeghi
Research Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5747
Office: SB 3.01.28
E-Mail: raymond.sadeghi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Simulation of Chemical Reactions using Time-dependent wave packet propagator
using fast Fourier Transform (publications 1-5)
• Simulation of photodissociation Dynamics [...]
 

MaoGen Zhang
Research Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5463
Office: SB 2.01.22
E-Mail: maogen.zhang@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Polymer-enzyme-nanomaterial-based electrochemical (bio)sensors
• Synthesis of metal-based nanomaterials
• Polymer syntheses

 

 

 

  ADJUNCT    
 

Bimal K. Banik
President’s Endowed Professor, Science & Engineering, UTPA

Office Phone: (956) 380-8741
Department of Chemistry
The University of Texas Pan American
E-Mail: banik@panam.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Chemistry, Biology and Pharmacology of Novel Anticancer Beta-Lactams
• Organometallics in the Synthesis of Biologically Active Compounds
• Polycyclic Aromatic Compounds as New Anticancer and Antibacterial Agents
• Medicinal Chemistry by Microwave-Induced Reactions

 

Gregg B. Fields
Robert A. Welch Foundation Distinguished University Professor in Chemistry

Office Phone: (210) 567-1312
Office: 542C.1 Medical School Building
UTHSCSA - Department of Biochemistry
E-Mail: FieldsG@uthscsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Solid-Phase Chemistry
• Extracellular Matrix Biochemistry
• Chemical Biology

       
  Paul F. Fitzpatrick
Adjunct Professor

Office Phone: ( 210) 567-8264
Office: 5.206.4 Allied Health Building, UT Health Science Center San Antonio
E-Mail: fitzpatrick@biochem.uthscsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Enzymology
• Bioorganic Chemistry
• Bioinorganic Chemistry

  George Lee
Adjunct Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-4466
Office: BSE - 0.106
E-Mail: George.Lee@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Analytical Chemistry
• Instrumental Analysis
Terrill Smith
Adjunct Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-4461
Office: BSE 4.232
E-Mail: tdsnas@satx.rr.com

Areas of Specialization
• Preparation of substituted perylenes that can be used in harvesting light

  Frank Walmsley
Adjunct Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458
Office: BSE
E-Mail: frank.walmsley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Chemical Education

 

One UTSA Circle * San Antonio, TX 78249
DOC Office (210) 458-5469 Fax (210) 458-7428