Home About the Department Site map Contact
 
 
Faculty
Tenure / Tenure Track

William R. Alley

Assistant Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104H
Phone: (210) 458-5459
Email: william.alley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Bioanalytical chemistry
• Glycomics
• Glycoproteomics/Proteomics
• Analytical glycobiology
• Mass spectrometry

Stephan B. H. Bach

Associate Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104D
Phone: (210) 458-6896
Email: stephen.bach@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Mass spectrometry
• Chemical Imaging
• Metal clusters
• Nanomaterials

Banglin Chen

Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104C
Phone: (210) 458-5461
Email: banglin.chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Nanoporous metal-organic frameworks
• Nanoparticles
• Functionalization of nano-sized cavities

Walter C. Ermler

Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104E
Phone: (210) 458-7005
Email: walter.ermler@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Computational spectroscopy
• Modeling heavy-element compounds
• Theoretical chemistry

Doug Frantz

Associate Professor

 

Office: BSE 4.258
Phone: (210) 458-7048
Email: doug.frantz@utsa.edu
Laboratory Web Page

Areas of Specialization

• Medicinal chemistry, physical organic chemistry, and process chemistry
• Asymmetric catalysis
• Heterocyclic synthesis

John Frederick

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

 

Office: MB 4.120N
Phone: (210) 458-4110
Email: John.Frederick@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Computational molecular dynamics, with a special emphasis on the study of molecular vibrations and structural rearrangements induced by the absorption of light

Carlos D. Garcia

Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104L
Phone: (210) 458-5774
Email: carlos.garcia@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Adsorption kinetics and structure of proteins on CNT
• Bioanalytical chemistry
• Coupling micro-organisms to microfluidics

Waldemar Gorski

Professor and Department Chair

 

Office: BSE 1.104M
Phone: (210) 458-4961
Email: waldemar.gorski@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Electrochemical enzyme assays
• Electrochemical (bio)sensors and modified electrodes
• Electrode films

Hyunsoo Han

Associate Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104K
Phone: (210) 458-5456
Email: hyunsoo.han@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Asymmetric catalysis
• Organic Synthesis
• Polymer and combinatorial chemistry

Harry Wellington Jarrett III

Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104G
Phone: (210) 458-7053
Email: harry.jarrett@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Muscular Dystrophy and signal transduction
• Transcription factor purification

Donald Kurtz Jr.

Lutcher Brown Distinguished Professor

 

Office: BSE 4.324
Phone: (210) 458-7060
Email: donald.kurtz@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Bioinorganic chemistry
• Non-heme iron enzymes

Oleg Larionov

Assistant Professor

 

Office: BSE 4.117
Phone: (210) 458-6050
Email: oleg.larionov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Medicinal chemistry
• Synthesis of biologically active natural products
• Enantioselective catalysis

Ghezai Musie

Associate Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104F
Phone: (210) 458-5454
Email: ghezai.musie@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Inorganic chemistry
• Bioinorganic chemistry
• Catalysis and materials
• Green chemistry

George R. Negrete

Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104J
Phone: (210) 458-5448
Email: george.negrete@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• β-Homoamino acids
• Asymmetric Synthesis
• Chemical carcinogenesis
• Green chemistry
• Novel lipopeptides

Zachary J. Tonzetich

Assistant Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104B
Phone: (210) 458-5465
Email: zachary.tonzetich@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Synthetic inorganic and organometallic chemistry
• Bioinorganic chemistry
• Catalysis
• Odd-electron organometallics
• Kinetics and mechanism of inorganic reactions

Judith A. Walmsley

Professor Emeritus

 

Office:
Phone: (480) 584-4869
Email: judith.walmsley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Biomolecular structure
• Inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry
• Nucleotide structures

John C.-G. Zhao

Professor

 

Office: BSE 1.104A
Phone: (210) 458-5432
Email: cong.zhao@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Asymmetric synthesis and reactions
• Oxidation
• Phosphorus chemistry
• Small ring compound

 

Non-Tenure Track

Hector Aguilar

Lecturer II

 

Office: BSE 4.250
Phone: (210) 458-4162
Email: hector.aguilar@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Organic Chemistry, Medicinal Chemistry, Chemical Biology
• Induction of stem cell differentiation by small molecules

Hadi Arman

Lecturer II

 

Office: BSE 1.106
Phone: (210) 458-6730
Email: hadi.arman@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Departmental x-ray crystallographer
• Crystal engineering focusing on hydrogen and halogen bonding interactions

Victoria Dougherty

Lecturer II

 

Office: BSE 1.340
Phone: (210)458-5473
Email: victoria.dougherty@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

 

Stanton McHardy

Associate Professor of Research

 

Office: SRL 1.438
Phone: (210) 458-8676
Email: stanton.mchardy@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

 

Raymond Sadeghi

Senior Lecturer

 

Office: FLN 3.01.28
Phone: (210) 458-5747
Email: raymond.sadeghi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Simulation of chemical Reactions using Time-dependent wave packet propagator using fast Fourier Transform (publications 1-5)
• Simulation of photodissociation dynamics [...]

Susan Thomas

Senior Lecturer

 

Office: BSE 1.338
Phone: (210) 458-7051
Email: susan.thomas@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

 

MaoGen Zhang

Research Fellow/Lab Services Supervisor III

 

Office: FLN 2.01.22
Phone: (210) 458-5463
Email: maogen.zhang@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Polymer-enzyme-nanomaterial-based electrochemical (bio)sensors
• Synthesis of metal-based nanomaterials
• Polymer syntheses

 

Adjunct

Paul F. Fitzpatrick

Adjunct Professor

 

Office: 5.206.4 Allied Health Building, UTHSCSA
Phone: (210) 567-8264
Email: fitzpatrick@biochem.uthscsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

• Enzymology
• Bioorganic chemistry
• Bioinorganic chemistry

 

One UTSA Circle * San Antonio, TX 78249
DOC Office (210) 458-5469 Fax (210) 458-7428