Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Faculty

Tenure/Tenure Track | Non-Tenure Track | Adjunct

Tenure/Tenure Track

William R. Alley

Assistant Professor

Office: BSE 1.104H
Phone: (210) 458-5459
Email: william.alley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Analytical glycobiology
» Bioanalytical chemistry
» Glycomics
» Glycoproteomics/Proteomics
» Mass spectrometry

Stephan B. H. Bach

Associate Professor

Office: BSE 1.104D
Phone: (210) 458-6896
Email: stephen.bach@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Chemical imaging
» Mass spectrometry
» Metal clusters
» Nanomaterials

Banglin Chen

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104C
Phone: (210) 458-5461
Email: banglin.chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Functionalization of nano-sized cavities
» Nanoparticles
» Nanoporous metal-organic frameworks

Michael Doyle

Professor and The Rita and John Feik Distinguished University Chair in Medicinal Chemistry

Office: BSE 1.104G
Phone: (210) 458-4196
Email: michael.doyle@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Catalytic oxidation processes
» Design and development of chiral catalysts
» Diazo chemistry
» Highly enantioselective catalytic reactions
» Medicinal chemistry

Walter C. Ermler

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104E
Phone: (210) 458-7005
Email: walter.ermler@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Computational spectroscopy
» Modeling heavy-element compounds
» Theoretical chemistry

Doug Frantz

Associate Professor

Office: BSE 4.258
Phone: (210) 458-7048
Email: doug.frantz@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Asymmetric catalysis
» Heterocyclic synthesis
» Medicinal chemistry
» Physical organic chemistry
» Process chemistry

John Frederick

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Office: MB 4.120N
Phone: (210) 458-4110
Email: john.frederick@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Chemical physics

Carlos D. Garcia

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104L
Phone: (210) 458-5774
Email: carlos.garcia@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Electrochemistry
» Interaction of proteins with nanomaterials
» Microfluidic devices and microfabrication

Waldemar Gorski

Professor and Department Chair

Office: BSE 1.104M
Phone: (210) 458-4961
Email: waldemar.gorski@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Electrochemical enzyme assays
» Electrochemical (bio)sensors and modified electrodes
» Electrode films

Hyunsoo Han

Associate Professor

Office: BSE 1.104K
Phone: (210) 458-5456
Email: hyunsoo.han@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Asymmetric catalysis
» Organic synthesis
» Polymer and combinatorial chemistry

Harry Wellington Jarrett III

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104G
Phone: (210) 458-7053
Email: harry.jarrett@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Muscular Dystrophy and signal transduction
» Transcription factor purification

Donald Kurtz Jr.

Lutcher Brown Distinguished Professor

Office: BSE 4.324
Phone: (210) 458-7060
Email: donald.kurtz@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinorganic chemistry
» Non-heme iron enzymes

Oleg Larionov

Assistant Professor

Office: BSE 4.117
Phone: (210) 458-6050
Email: oleg.larionov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Enantioselective catalysis
» Medicinal chemistry
» Synthesis of biologically active natural products

Ghezai Musie

Associate Professor

Office: BSE 1.104F
Phone: (210) 458-5454
Email: ghezai.musie@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinorganic chemistry
» Catalysis and materials
» Green chemistry
» Inorganic chemistry

George R. Negrete

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104J
Phone: (210) 458-5448
Email: george.negrete@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Asymmetric synthesis
» β-Homoamino acids
» Chemical carcinogenesis
» Green chemistry
» Novel lipopeptides

Zachary J. Tonzetich

Assistant Professor

Office: BSE 1.104B
Phone: (210) 458-5465
Email: zachary.tonzetich@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinorganic chemistry
» Catalysis
» Kinetics and mechanism of inorganic reactions
» Odd-electron organometallics
» Synthetic inorganic and organometallic chemistry

Judith A. Walmsley

Professor Emeritus

Office:
Phone: (210) 458-4869
Email: judith.walmsley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biomolecular structure
» Inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry
» Nucleotide structures

John C.-G. Zhao

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104A
Phone: (210) 458-5432
Email: cong.zhao@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Asymmetric synthesis and reactions
» Oxidation
» Phosphorus chemistry
» Small ring compound

 

Non-Tenure Track

Hector Aguilar

Lecturer II

Office: BSE 4.250
Phone: (210) 458-4162
Email: hector.aguilar@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Chemical Biology, Medicinal Chemistry, Organic Chemistry
» Induction of stem cell differentiation by small molecules

Hadi Arman

Lecturer II

Office: BSE 1.106
Phone: (210) 458-6730
Email: hadi.arman@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Crystal engineering focusing on hydrogen and halogen bonding interactions
» Departmental x-ray crystallographer

Victoria Dougherty

Lecturer II

Office: BSE 1.340
Phone: (210) 458-5473
Email: victoria.dougherty@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
 

Stanton McHardy

Associate Professor of Research
Director, Center for Innovative Drug Discovery

Office: SRL 1.438
Phone: (210) 458-8676
Email: stanton.mchardy@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Medicinal chemistry
» Small molecule drug discovery in cancer, infectious disease, and neuroscience areas
» Synthesis of natural products
» Synthetic methodology

Raymond Sadeghi

Senior Lecturer

Office: FLN 3.01.28
Phone: (210) 458-5747
Email: raymond.sadeghi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Simulation of chemical reactions
» Simulation of photodissociation dynamics
» Theoretical chemistry

Susan Thomas

Senior Lecturer

Office: BSE 1.338
Phone: (210) 458-7051
Email: susan.thomas@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Allied health sciences chemistry
» Basic and general chemistry
» Biophysical chemistry

 

Adjunct

Paul F. Fitzpatrick

Adjunct Professor

Office: 5.206.4 Allied Health Building, UTHSCSA
Phone: (210) 567-8264
Email: fitzpatrick@biochem.uthscsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinorganic chemistry
» Bioorganic chemistry
» Enzymology