Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

UTSA Police Department

National Night Out 2012 Award Ceremony

The City of San Antonio had another spectacular National Night Out Event for 2012. The entire city contributed to this success and the San Antonio Police Department in conjunction with the UTSA Police Department hosted a joint awards ceremony on December 8th at the UTSA Downtown Campus to recognize the 400 block participants whose events helped create an enormous awareness for anticrime theft.

San Antonio Police Chief William McManus, Assistant Chiefs Geraldine Garcia, and Jose Banales, Deputy Chiefs Jeff Humphrey, Tony Trevino, and Tony Muro were on hand. City Council Member District 6, Ray Lopez also attended the event. Representing UTSA was Chief of Police, Steve Barrera.

Dr. Francine Romero gave the welcoming remarks and Dr. Jesse T. Zapata provided the keynote speech.

The UTSA Police Department won the 2nd Place Award for schools, churches, museums, etc. category. Both SAPD and UTSAPD congratulated everyone who participated and made the 2012 National Night Out a huge success.


UTSA Police Recognize Downtown Campus Floor Captain Velma Garcia

The UTSA Police Department held its sixth annual awards ceremony on December 14, 2012 on the Main Campus. Three university staff members were recognized for their dedication to emergency preparedness and for their significant contributions to the UTSA Floor Captain Safety Liaison Program, sponsored by the UTSA Office of Emergency Management. The 2012 award winners were Shannon Janssen (Main Campus), Velma Garcia (Downtown Campus), and Lloyd Swartz (ITC). This award is to recognize and celebrate those individuals who help make UTSA a safe place to live, work, and learn. To join the UTSA Floor Captain program, please call (210) 458-6851, or visit us on the web at