University Excellence Awards Steering Committee


The University Excellence Awards honor outstanding UTSA faculty and staff who demonstrate excellence in teaching, research and work performance. The awards program encompasses UTSA’s three award categories (President’s Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards, President’s Distinguished Diversity Awards and the University Excellence Staff Awards), as well as milestone Years of Service recognitions for all employees.

The University Excellence Awards Steering Committee is a university standing committee, and is classified as an institutional committee. The committee oversees all logistics of the award program, as well as the planning and production of UTSA’s annual University Excellence Award ceremony.


The committee is charged to develop overarching strategies for the high-level execution of the awards process and ceremony. From time to time, the committee shall review the awards logistics and ceremony components, and shall make recommendations to senior university leadership for improvements and alternative approaches. The committee is charged to ensure that the process for nominations, application review and awardee selections uphold the integrity of the University’s core values, and are timely and efficient. The committee shall ensure that all aspects of the awards program are worthy of the high honor the awards represent and offers a first-class experience to all awardees and university guests.

Committee Membership:

The committee shall be chaired by the executive director of special projects and protocol (University Relations). The committee shall be comprised of at least one representative from each of the following units:

  • University Relations
  • Academic Affairs
  • Inclusive Excellence
  • Business Affairs
  • People Excellence
  • Development and Alumni Relations
  • Staff Senate
  • Faculty Senate

Each representative shall be appointed by the associated vice president or chair of the governance group and serve until replaced.

Edda Wallace, Chair
Melinda Utoft Academic Affairs
Laurie Lewis Academic Affairs
Caitlin Jaworowski Business Affairs
Cynthia Arreola Inclusive Excellence
Yanelly Guerrero People Excellence
Christal Cooper University Relations
Diana Calloway
Development and Alumni Relations
Matthias Hofferberth
Faculty Senate
Matt Keneson
Staff Senate
Sarah Sanchez
Staff Senate
Amy Fritz
Staff Senate