Sustainability Council

The UTSA Sustainability Council consists of faculty, staff and students from the three campuses and includes representatives from the offices of the President and each of the Vice Presidents. The Council functions as a university standing committee and its chair and members will be appointed by the President and/or his/her designee.

The Council will advise the President, Provost and other senior administrators regarding strategies for enhancing the university's sustainability performance. The Council will make recommendations on sustainability programs, initiatives, and practices, and on the allocation of resources; will help monitor the development and progress of the campus sustainability efforts; and will provide guidance and assistance in fostering alliances with community partners.

The Council is responsible for developing a five-year sustainability plan. The Council will review and update the plan on an annual basis and present it to Senior Leadership Team for approval, support and provision of resources. The Council has the responsibility of preparing an annual report on the progress of the university-wide sustainability plan. In addition, the Council will be responsible for preparing the annual UTSA Campus Sustainability report for The University of Texas System (UT System).


Lani May, Chair Office of Sustainability
Moses Hernandez, Vice Chair Student Appointee
Eliot Howard Leadership and Volunteer Services
Noelani Cubillos-Sanchez Center for Civic Engagement
Jake Erney Staff Senate
Mary Dixson Faculty Senate
Jasmin Paquet Durand Ford SGA President
Shaun Speck SGA Director of Sustainability
Tejas Narayanan Student Appointee
Madeline Morales Student Appointee