Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content


EquinoxLogoEquinox Festival '17

Join us Friday, September 22, 2017
UTSA's Main Campus

The Equinox Festival '17, UTSA's annual sustainability festival, showcases the university’s and the City of San Antonio’s progress on researching and developing sustainable solutions to improve the quality life for future generations. Held on September 22 of every year, the event links students, community members, and local businesses in a day full of learning, music, food and fun.

Register to attend. It's Free!




Twitter Equinox







Participate in:

  • Exhibits, Music, Games, Fun
  • Solar Panel Tours: 1:45 to 1:55 p.m. and 3:45 to 3:55 p.m.
  • Electric Vehicle Exhibits: On roof of Ximenes Parking Garage
  • VIA compressed natural gas bus demonstration outside of HUC.
  • Register to vote on site from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • Roadrunner Pantry will be collecting nutritious food and non-food items for students in the HUC Ballroom.
  • Obstacle Course races: Rowdy Environmental Showdown with Wile E Coyote...and the Minions 12:45 to 12:55. Second race: 2:45 pm to 2:55 p.m. outside on lawn by HUC Ballrooms
  • UTSA Cheerleaders will cheer us on at 2:00 p.m.
  • Scientific posters on a range of sustainability research will be available from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Poster presentations will be held outside the HUC Ballrooms in the Ballroom Galleria (lobby area) from noon - 2 p.m.

Panel Presentations HUC Ballrooms (UC 1.106)

10:30 Welcome by event organizers Alejandro Trevino and Keith Muhlestein

10:45 District 8 Councilman Manny Pelaez remarks

10:50 Paris Accord Resolution presentation: Mayor Ron Nirenberg and UTSA President Taylor Eighmy

Panel Line-up Ballroom I, HUC: (subject to change)

11:00 a.m.
San Antonio Leadership
: Mayor Ron Nirenberg; UTSA President Taylor Eighmy; Paula Gold-Williams, President and CEO of CPS; and moderator Dr. Mauli Agrawal, UTSA Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.

11:45 Dr. Krystel Castillo, Director, Texas Sustainable Energy Research Institute introduces CPS/TSERI Strategic Alliance Grant Ceremony

12 noon
Operational Sustainability
: Doug Melnick, Director of Sustainability, City of San Antonio; David Riker, UTSA Associate VP for Facilities; Cris Eugster, COO, CPS; John Anderson, Aramark Regional Sustainability Champion; moderator Keith Muhlestein, UTSA Director of Sustainability

1:00 p.m.
Sustainability Research
: JoAnn Browning, Ph.D., P.E., Dean, UTSA College of Engineering; Dr. Krystel Castillo, Director, Texas Sustainable Energy Research Institute; Dr. Hariharan Krishnaswami, Assistant Department Chair, UTSA Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Dr. Bing Dong, UTSA Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering

2:00 p.m.
Student Leadership
: Rebecca DeLeon-Hutton, President of Green Society; Anthony Govea, SGA; Alejandro Trevino, TSERI Student Researcher;Carli Martinez, UIW Sustainability Scholar; Lisa Valentine Cervantes, UTSA Green Society; Peter De La Cruz, Velox Racing Team (Biographies of speakers)

3:00 p.m. HUC Ballroom
: Jeffrey Arndt, President/CEO, VIA Metropolitan Transit; Linda Alvarado-Vela, Planning/Public Involvement Program Manager, Alamo Area MPO; Clay Haverland, UTSA Assistant VP for Campus Services; William Barker, Adjunct Associate Professor, Transportation

3:00 p.m. Loeffler Room, BSB 3.02.02: Innovation in Sustainability: Lorenzo Gomez, CEO, Geekdom; Jose De La Cruz, Chief Innovation Officer, COSA; Michael Girdley, CEO, CODEUP; Dr. Cory Hallam, UTSA Professor and director of the Center for Innovation and Technology Entrepreneurship

4:00 p.m. HUC Ballroom
Water: Martin Miller, SAWS; moderater: Dr. Marcio Giacomoni, UTSA Professor of Engineering; Vikram Kapoor,  UTSA; Troy Dorman, Tetratech

4:00 p.m. Loeffler Room, BSB 3.02.02: Cybersecurity Panel: Gerardo Trevino, Electric Power Research Institute; Paul Rad, UTSA Associate Professor, College of Business; Jeff Prevost, UTSA Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Alex Trevino

5:00 p.m.
Climate Panel:
Dr. David Sullivan, Research Associate at The University of Texas at Austin Center for Energy and Environmental Resources; Dr. Richard C. Jones, UTSA Professor of Geography and Environmental Sustainability; Dr. Nazgol Bagheri, Assistant Professor, UTSA Department of Political Science and Geography

6:00 p.m.
Community Engagement Roundtable:
Dr. Francine Romero, UTSA Associate Dean of Public Policy; Peter Bella, Environmental Activist; Keith Muhlestein, UTSA Director of Sustainability

The discussion will focus on community inclusion in the development of public policy regarding sustainability. As with all events during the day, members of the community are welcome and encouraged to attend and engage in the conversation. 

Learn about economical and environmentally friendly commuting options at UTSA. Take VIA to the Festival! Routes: 93, 94, 101, 603/605, and 660. Park at the University Park & Ride, I-10 & 1604, and take the VIA. Bike, walk, or carpool to the event!

Learn about biking at UTSA.

Donate to UTSA's Sustainability Initiatives or the UTSA Student Community Garden

Check out our event video and watch other UTSA sustainability videos

Take personal action to reduce Your carbon footprint: Tips!

Join us! Volunteer before and at the event.

Media Release

Share the flyer

Contact: Alejandro Trevino, Texas Sustainable Energy Research Institute, or or Dr.Keith Muhlestein at



Updated 9-15-2017