About Public Safety
Emergency:  210-458-4911     Non-emergency:  210-458-4242      


The UTSA Department of Public Safety is a modern and professional organization dedicated to maintaining community partnerships that promote a high quality of safety for the university’s diverse population. We are committed to treating everyone with dignity, fairness and respect, protecting their rights and providing equal protection under the law. One of our significant priorities is student safety. We offer services and programs designed to educate students about protecting their valuables and themselves on and off campus.

UTSA Public Safety includes three branches: the UTSA Police Department (UTSAPD), Security Services and Strategic Initiatives. UTSAPD, a dual-accredited state police agency, consists of 47 sworn officers who provide 24/7 service to the UTSA community. Section leaders from each area regularly convene with Command Staff to collaboratively plan, execute and evaluate departmental operations.